# STANDARDS COMMITTEE

# 3 AUGUST 2022

## REPORT OF HEAD OF DEMOCRATIC SERVICES & ELECTIONS

#### PARISH COUNCILS' STANDARDS SUB-COMMITTEE -A.3 TOWN & APPOINTMENT OF TENDRING DISTRICT COUNCIL MEMBERS

(Report prepared by Ian Ford, Committee Services Manager)

## **PART 1 – KEY INFORMATION**

#### PURPOSE OF THE REPORT

To enable the Committee to appoint Tendring District Council's members to serve on the Town and Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee for the 2022/2023 Municipal Year.

#### BACKGROUND

Article 9 (Standards Committee and Town & Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee) of the Council's Constitution states that the Council will have, in place, a Town & Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee with the following terms of reference:-

"To advise and assist Town and Parish Councils and Councillors to maintain high standards of conduct and to make recommendations to Parish and Town Councils on improving standards or actions following a finding of a failure by a Parish Councillor to comply with its Code of Conduct." [Article 9.05]

Article 9.05 also requires the Sub-Committee to consist of three members of the Standards Committee and three non-voting co-opted Town & Parish Council members nominated by the Tendring District Association of Local Councils (TDALC). In addition, the nominated Town & Parish Council members will be of an independent standing and they will not have served as a District Councillor or as a County Councillor for a period of four years prior to their nomination.

The Standards Committee, at its meeting held on 9 July 2019 (Minute 9 refers), appointed Councillors Nicola Overton, Graham Steady and Ann Wiggins to serve on the Town and Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee.

Since that time, Nicola Overton has ceased to be a member of Tendring District Council and Ann Wiggins was not re-appointed as a member of the Standards Committee at the Annual Meeting of the Council held on 26 April 2022.

The Committee Services Manager contacted TDALC with a view to them confirming their nominations for the Sub-Committee. Dr Benjamin Newman Wright, Lawford Parish Councillor and the Secretary of TDALC, responded by email on 16 June 2022 as follows:-

"Two Representatives were unanimously approved by TDALC Representatives at our Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 25th May 2022, namely:

*Councillor Linda Belgrove (Chair, TDALC) (Representative: Alresford Parish Council); and* 

*Councillor Frank Belgrove (Vice Chair, TDALC) (Representative: Alresford Parish Council.* 

The only Representative on your [previous] list serving with the Tendring District Association of Local Councils is Councillor Robert Taylor. He was unable to participate in our AGM. I understand that we will consider formally adding a Third Representative at our next TDALC Meeting."

## RECOMMENDATIONS

- It is recommended that the Standards Committee:-
  - (a) appoints three of its members to serve on the Town & Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee for the 2022/2023 Municipal Year;
  - (b) notes, welcomes and endorses that the Tendring District Association of Local Councils (TDALC) has appointed Parish Councillors Frank Belgrove and Linda Belgrove as two of their three non-voting, co-opted members of that Sub-Committee; and
  - (c) further notes that TDALC will notify the Council of its third non-voting, co-opted member of that Sub-Committee in due course.